Actually, this Palace was originally called Deli Sultan Palace, however, now it is known as "Maimoon Palace". It is open for the public. It was finished on 26 August 1888 by Sultan Maknium Al Rasyid. It was first open on 18 May 1891, then used as and administrative center until the end of the Second World War. This palace is still occupied by Sultan Azin Perkasa Alam and his family.
Back in the history of the Deli Sultan and Maimoon Palace, there was an interesting legend called "Meriam Puntung" (Cannon Stub). The cannon stub is still in a small building in front of the palace yard. In the legend, it was said that: There was a Princess called 'Putri Hijau' from the Great Eastern Kingdom. She was very beautiful and her beauty made a king from Aceh fall in love with her. This king asked her to marry him. Unfortunately, he was rejected by the Princess. In his anger, he attacked the Great Eastern Kingdom which was at that time, led by Putri Hijau's elder brother, Mambang Yazid, who had been chosen to become king after his father had passed away. Aceh won the battle.
When Aceh was about to attack the Great Eastern Palace, the first miracle happened. The princess' younger brother, Mambang Khayali, who had been continuously defending the Palace, suddenly changed into a 'Cannon'. It kept shooting. The barrel was so hot that it broke into two pieces. One part, the barrel, flew off and fell on the mountain near Kabanjahe, and the other one (the stub) stayed at the Deli Palace and is still there now. Eventually, Putri Hijau was arrested, however, when the king took her by ship through the Malacca Straits. the second miracle occurred. Suddenly, an enormous dragon, which was the incarnation of her brother, King Mambang Yazid, destroyed the ship taking his sister. Afterwards, Putri Hijau who was in glass box, was taken into the sea by the dragon. The Aceh King was left with only a deep longing for the princess, Putri Hijau.
More on Maimoon Palace: